It was like a usual day.
We all sat, looking on as our colleagues displayed their various roles amidst corrections and appraisals.

You, up! my teacher called out. It was my turn for auditioning. I was given a very minor role that is comparable to the messenger that appears once in a Nollywood movie. The lead roles which most of us wanted, were taken.

It was my second time coming on stage to perform a presentation. The first, being a mini music drama which I participated in by chance.

At this moment, my heart beat was felt very loud in my head.
I have watched others being criticised and laughed upon and I was not much of an outspoken person.
I carefully walked towards the stage silently wishing that someone assisted me climb the little stairs, lest I fell because my feet trembled.

When I got there,  I tried to compose myself remembering my script.
Whether it was to overcome my current state of anxiety or to impress my teacher, I screamed out…”des arachides est la. La culture pyramide c’est ca………..”  
You should have seen all my facial muscles of expression trying to take the audition so personal….lol

I was surprised at myself when I looked and saw my teacher, nodding in appraisal.
When I was done, she asked me to repeat the role . I displayed once again with the utmost of my energy amidst demonstrations which seem funny to me now.

She called me, told me that I was going to introduce the drama. I had the voice projection needed. I gladly accepted and began cramming another script to do my best.

At our next rehearsals, more roles came up. My teacher called me again, told me that I would take up another role. Wow. There were people who had not one role and here I was, taking three roles.

That was how I became the fourth and last person called upon after the first three lead characters of our drama who received a two week scholarship course in Village du Benin, Togo some years ago.

From my story, I leave you with these, “whatever your hand finds doing, no matter how menial or trivial, do it with all your might. Give it your best. It may be a test to piloting you to greater heights”

image
No matter how menial.

Peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “No! that role is so menial.

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

    Like

Leave a Reply

